Meatless Monday!

Meatless Monday!

Welcome beans…I mean Make Shoppers! I’ve been so excited to share my Crock Pot  Beans and Veggie Soup recipe with you I can’t even type straight. Plus, my paw mittens are always in the way. Oh well…whaddya gonna do about it? Thank goodness for spell check!
Just so you know, this was my first attempt with assorted raw beans. I don’t know why I was so afraid to cook with them before…maybe for fear of them not cooking through? So, I learned that soaking them overnight was the trick and the rest was a piece of blueberry pie! Now, I chose to use beans as the base of my soup but you could use just about anything. Potatoes, rice or orzo….whatever pleases you! Also, choose any spices and  assortment of veggies that are good for slow cooking in a crock pot.

Let’s get started…

My Ingredients:
4 cups of Assorted Beans (rinsed and soaked overnight)
1 Onion chopped
5 Ribs of Celery chopped
3-4 Carrots chopped into disks
2 Roma Tomatoes chopped
Fresh Parsley chopped
2-3 Garlic Cloves crushed
6-8 cups Veggie Broth
Seasonings:
Kosher Salt and Pep to taste
Celery Salt to taste
Onion and Garlic Powder to taste

Put it together:
Set up the crock pot and turn it to low. Add all of the ingredients above EXCEPT the tomatoes, give it a stir and cover. To avoid a mushy texture, add the tomatoes during the last 1/2 hour of the cook time. Let the soup cook for about 6 hours and then turn the setting to high and let cook for another 2 hours. I found the extra heat towards the end really softened the beans to a nice texture. If you don’t have this much time you could always set the crock pot to high and cook for less time. Check the beans a few times during the process to make sure they’re done!

Serve:
Scoop out the veggies and beans and put them into a nice soup bowl and serve with warm bread…mmm…

Enjoy~

From me to you…

Tutu

Talk to Tutu

