Ants on a Log, a Childhood Favorite

Ants on a Log, a Childhood Favorite

Today I was thinking about recipes from my childhood. I recall experiencing hot summer days in SoCal and craving cooler foods.  Just like me, I’m sure everyone remembers “ants on a log,” from their childhood. The crunch of the celery combined with soft peanut butter is such a tasty combination and putting the raisins on top was my favorite part!

 

AntsLog#1

So now that I’ve been focusing on better foods to eat and serve my family it is becoming easier and easier to do. Celery, perfect because it contains water and it’s a veggie. Peanut butter, although high in fat, it’s a MUFA (mono-unsaturated fatty acid) which burns fat as the right amount is consumed! WHAT!?!

AntsLog#2

Now, while I was making these I did come across one problem and that was getting the peanut butter in the celery boat, NEATLY! Before I got the bright idea to use my frosting decorator (yes, i’m big on presentation) these boats looked like a hot mess! But, not anymore!

Enjoy,

-Tutu

 

Talk to Tutu

